Philippe Franck

Philippe Franck

Art historian, essayist and art critic, sound and intermedia producer/creator,  Philippe Franck (BE/FR) is the artistic director and founder of Transcultures (since 1996). He is the founder and director of the international sound art festival City Sonic (since 2003) and Les Transnumériques, digital arts & cultural biennale (since 2005). Since 2018, he is also the general director of the European Pepinieres of Creation (international network).

He has curated many sound/multimedia/interdisciplinary exhibitions, events and festivals in Belgium, France and abroad. He also teaches on digital arts at the At School of Saint-Luc (Brussels) and sound creation at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts of Brussels and Arts2 (Mons).

He has produced or participated in numerous discs (on various labels including Sub Rosa, Optical Sound, Transonic), directed several collective works on contemporary / electronic music, interdisciplinary, digital and / or sound creation (notably at La Lettre Volée editions ) and writes regularly as a critic in several Belgian, French and Quebec journals.

Artistic

At the same time, since the early 1980s, he has been developing a multifaceted artistic journey and has produced numerous choreographic music (for Nadine Ganase, Manon Oligny, etc.), interdisciplinary performances, videos (in particular for Régis Cotentin, Hanzel & Gretzel or Thomas Israël), multimedia projects (with digital artists such as Philippe Boisnard, Marc Veyrat, art2network).

In 2014 co-directed the film Bernard Heidsieck, poetry in action (which was also the subject of the DVD book-box Variations sur Bernard Heidsieck).

Under the name Paradise Now (his solo sound project since the 90s), he works in collaboration with the holistic performer Isa*Belle (several body/sound art installations and performances since 2005), the electronic musicians Christophe Bailleau (the Pastoral duo), Gauthier Keyaerts (within Supernova), Stephan Dunkelman as well as the vocalist Maja Jantar and several poets (including Ira Cohen, Gerard Malanga, Werner Moron, Eric Therer, Catrine Godin, Habiba Sheikh).

paradisenow.be

Actualité

Philippe Franck

Philippe Franck

Historien de l’art, concepteur et critique culturel, créateur/producteur sonore et intermédiatique, Philippe Franck (BE/FR) est directeur de Transcultures, Centre des cultures numériques et sonores qu’il a fondé en 1996. Il est également le fondateur et directeur artistique du festival international des arts sonores City Sonic (depuis 2003) et des Transnumériques, biennale des cultures numériques (depuis 2005) en Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles. Depuis 2018, il est aussi le directeur général du réseau international des Pépinières Européennes de Création.

Il a été commissaire artistique de nombreuses autres manifestations d’arts contemporains, sonores, hybrides et numériques en Europe et à l’international. Il enseigne également l’analyse de l’image, la théorie des médias et des multimédias à l’Ecole Supérieure des Arts Saint-Luc (Bruxelles), la création sonore à l’Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles et à Arts2 (Mons).

Il a produit ou participé à de nombreux disques (sur divers labels dont Sub Rosa, Optical Sound, Transonic), dirigé plusieurs ouvrages collectifs sur les musiques contemporaines/électroniques, la création interdisciplinaire, numérique et/ou sonore (notamment aux éditions La Lettre Volée) et écrit régulièrement en tant que critique dans plusieurs revues belges, françaises et québécoises.

Artistique

Il développe parallèlement, depuis le début des années 80, un trajet artistique multiforme et a réalisé de nombreuses musiques de chorégraphies (pour Nadine Ganase, Manon Oligny…), performances interdisciplinaires, vidéos (notamment pour Régis Cotentin, Hanzel & Gretzel ou encore Thomas Israël), dispositifs multimédia (notamment avec les artistes numériques, Philippe Boisnard, Marc Veyrat, art2network).

En 2014, il a co-réalisé le film Bernard Heidsieck, la poésie en action (qui a également fait l’objet du livre-coffret DVD Variations sur Bernard Heidsieck).

Sous le nom de Paradise Now (son projet sonore solo depuis les années 90), il travaille en collaboration avec la performeuse holistique Isa*Belle (plusieurs installations et performances corps/son depuis 2005), les musiciens électroniques Christophe Bailleau (le duo Pastoral), Gauthier Keyaerts (au sein de Supernova), Stephan Dunkelman, la vocaliste Maja Jantar ainsi que plusieurs poètes (dont Ira Cohen, Gerard Malanga, Werner Moron, Eric Therer, Catrine Godin, Habiba Sheikh…).

paradisenow.be

Actualité

Load More